CRANAplus Awards showcase the high calibre of talent in remote and isolated Australia

2 Nov 2017

Under the stars and fairy lights on the shore of beautiful Cable Beach in Broome, CRANAplus
conference attendees joined to celebrate the work of award winners with peers and experts from
across the country.

The Aurora Award is awarded annually by CRANAplus to recognise individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to remote and isolated health. These individuals provide inspiration, leadership and energy to make things happen. They truly are the Remote Health professionals of the year.

The 2017 CRANAplus Aurora Award winner is Associate Professor Sue Lenthall.
A Veteran remote area nurse with 3 decades of unbroken experience as an educator, researcher
and in leadership roles, Professor Lenthall has a visionary approach supporting the remote health

Sue has been involved in most of the critical projects that have shaped the profession today.
She has demonstrated a high level of commitment to the nursing profession and an outstanding
commitment to remote health, the profession of remote area nursing, and to Aboriginal and
Torres Strait Islander health workers, doctors and allied health through various leadership roles.
Sue has also overseen the development of nationally acclaimed remote health education, led
innovation, and been central to critical research as well as contributing to the evidence base on
which health service and workforce policy is developed.

CRANAplus is also congratulates the following CRANAplus award recipients.

Ms Isabel Pearce - CRANAplus Outstanding Novice and Encouragement Award, sponsored by
Aussiewide Economy Transport
Mr Steve Brown - CRANAplus Excellence in Mentoring in Remote & Isolated Health Award,
sponsored by Remote Area Health Corp (RAHC)
Ms Kathy Arthurs - CRANAplus Excellence in Remote & Isolated Health Practice Award, sponsored
by Mt Isa Centre for Rural & Remote Health
The Nursing Education Team, Torres & Cape Hospital & Health Service - CRANAplus Excellence in
Education and/or Research Award, sponsored by Centre for Remote Health
Mookia Rosie Bi-Bayan - CRANAplus Collaborative Team Award, sponsored by Bellette NT Creative

Congratulations to all of the CRANAplus award winners.

Further info / Interview / photos:
Anne-Marie Borchers, Marketing & Communications 08 8408 8200
Christopher Cliffe, CEO: 0427 826 409